Garden as a metaphor

There are many quotes by famous writers comparing thoughtful interactions between people to gardening and feeling of happiness to blossoming.

It’s the end of February and the New England spring is officially about to start in few weeks. The thoughts of gardening are on my mind again. Literally. What to grow this year? Would I need to switch the growing beds for plants? The potatoes have not done so well for last two years, would I want to try again this year? Do I want to start few plants early inside to have them ready for planting in May? Yet, in a bigger picture the questions I am asking are about my needs as well as of my garden’s.

Caring for someone, loving someone, and any thoughtful relationships need us to pay attention to the needs of others as well as to ourselves. Like I am asking, if the location of my garden is too dry and sunny for potatoes to thrive, I might think if some words are better left unspoken to keep a dear friend from getting overwhelmed if they have a lot on their mind already.

We cultivate the life we want live and with each year try to understand ourselves better helping our soul thrive. This brings me to self-care and self-love, (which are important), it’s when we become the garden and the gardener in one.

293206_2209441632178_5008251_n

My grandmother and I in 2009

Gardening, for my mother, my grand-mother, my great-grandmother, and so on, has been the means of growing food for a family. But I also know it was for simply creating beauty: patches and rows in the garden that my grandmother filled with different flowers to bloom from early spring to late autumn. Naturally the metaphor of gardening ‘grew’ out of the way we used to live. The world has changed from hundred or fifty years ago, it is faster paced now. Many if not most of the people do not know how to garden. This is worth thinking about now when growing our own food and need to feel closer to nature is talked and written about again. Taking up gardening year after a year might just change the way we live and think.

The relationships that truly bring happiness take time. Often through trial and error we abandon relationships that do not work or learn from mistakes and with better understanding of ourselves we can feel happier.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

